The cracked mirror

Last NaPoWriMo prompt, and I loved it. Thank you for keeping this until the end.

The cracked mirror

She moved slowly, carefully
in the shadowy interior,
from kitchen to main room,
of the ground floor flat that barred its shutters
against the flowing river of the street.

I could see her slow precise movements,
touching, arranging, dusting,
always careful, unhurried, solitary.

Perhaps it wasn’t dark inside, just unlit.
Perhaps she didn’t need light to see where he sat,
facing the TV, or by the window to read the paper.
Perhaps everything was as it always had been.
Except for the old man’s space.
Did she fill it with a ghost?

A ghost that called in her sleep,
a voice so loved, she could no longer not know, not look.
Perhaps, half-sick of shadows, she threw the window open,
to look down the flowing river of the street, straining
to hear the fading tirra lirra of an old song,
admit that it was empty,
and he would never come home.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

8 thoughts on “The cracked mirror”

  1. Perfection, Jane–words and the Waterhouse with echoes of Tennyson.

    I love this:

    Perhaps, half-sick of shadows, she threw the window open,
    to look down the flowing river of the street, straining
    to hear the fading tirra lirra of an old song,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m pleased you like this. It’s one I’m going to keep. I’ve decided to make a folder of the poems that I like best, to maybe tinker with them, not with the idea of submitting, because it’s not worth the anguish, but make a collection just for me.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started