Not Apokalypsis and more Ragnarök than Götterdämmerung

Inspired by the images from Paul Brookes’ ekphrastic challenge.

Not Apokalypsis and more Ragnarök than Götterdämmerung

When the birds are all netted up,
like stars, a forgotten constellation,
trees branched in dead twigs,
ready to combust in air incandescent,
all our seas incarnadine,
no clear water between,
the last flicker will be bright
as damselflies, dancing
on the stream, once.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

21 thoughts on “Not Apokalypsis and more Ragnarök than Götterdämmerung”

      1. There’s a nasty ‘traditional’ method of catching small birds in Europe and probably everywhere, of using a captured bird to call a whole flock that gets caught in nets or stuck in glue. That’s what I saw in the image.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I think you probably have gathered a lot of what many people disparagingly call ‘useless information’. It’s not useless, obviously. It’s often what’s most important, but it rarely comes with a reference. I ‘know’ a lot of stuff, which is probably only half-right. Still, half is better than ignorance.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sum are liars, and some lyres. His poetry explored the agony and ecstasy, I think, rather than what we usually term drunkenness or euphoria. There was something more to his wine and roses.

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started