The little cat waits

The little cat waits

Wind howls through the cracks
between the beams and plaster,
and the little cat nods.

Beneath the table
where the cold’s curling fingers creep,
she lies and nods.

The stove is warm, her cushion waits,
but still she lies with folded paws,
facing the door.

Her eyes are fixed but not on things
of this earth, this room of spring draughts,
on things we cannot see.

The little cat lies with folded paws,
waiting for the sign that only she will see,
and she will follow.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “The little cat waits”

      1. No, that’s something different. I think daughter’s old man dog gets that.

        My sister suggested maybe they could do this. Her cat was dying of some other kind of cancer, and the steroid shots gave him a few extra months. So, the vet said it might make him more comfortable. I think this one works as a very strong anti inflammatory more in the abdominal area. My sister told me it takes a couple days to take effect. We’re hoping it will make him want to eat more.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope it works. It’s so hard to decide what to do for the best. If he has a condition that needs treating, then obviously you do it. I don’t think Trixie has a problem other than old age. We won’t force the vet on her unless she seems to be suffering.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started