Death comes

Verrà la morte e avrà i tuoi occhi
Cesare Pavese

Death comes

Does she look for green eyes
when she stares into the middle distance,
pupils round and black,
in the shadows where she lies?

Will they gaze back, unblinking,
with feline detachment,
or with a promise of companionship?

I watch with her, the ticking hours,
knowing only that when she looks at me,
I am not what she is waiting for.

Verrà la morte,
and she will have cat’s eyes.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Death comes”

      1. I watch with her, the ticking hours,
        knowing only that when she looks at me,
        I am not what she is waiting for.

        Sounds like every cat I’ve owned. “Oh, it’s only you. How boring…..” That’s why I smiled.

        Of course, we read what we want into every poem, don’t we?

        Like

      2. I’m glad you recognised cat behaviour in happy contexts. I’m watching our oldest cat, the greatest and best, slowly fading away. She was doing great for almost sixteen, then she started to falter. It’s been a very rapid decline. So sad.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started