Light-dark

The Oracle gave me a strange selection of words today, that worked themselves into a poem not so strange after all. And of course, Odilon Redon had exactly the right illustration for it.

Light-dark

How could I be man,
hair dark as night
and cloaked in the shadows of my moon,
that tears a hole in the blackness, shines,

when I am full of fierce suns,
the eggshelled futures,
a brood waiting to spread their wings,
rise?

Yet when the moon rests,
retreats into the dark side of the sky,
his hands are gentle-dark
and sweep the shadows smooth,

make the music that becomes my song,
the painted earth that we fill together.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Light-dark”

  1. The Oracle gave you such a gentle, beautiful poem today! I don’t remember this Redone. It makes me think of Kerfe’s work–the figures look almost like part of a collage.

    Like

  2. Gentle was my first reaction too. The moon does gentle the fierceness of the sun.
    And Merril is right–it would be perfect inspiration for a collage. I’ll keep it in mind. (K)

    Like

    1. It was an odd selection of words, but keeping them, the order the Oracle set them out, led to a poem of sorts. The painting reminds me of embroidered brocade; stiff and glittering, but precious.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started