Hidden meanings

This is a transcription of all the words the Oracle gave me, in the order they appeared. It was odd that they seemed to form so many short phrases. Shame about the sausages; they were plural this time too.

Is like play
Some sing purple
Cool ache
One petal was black
Light if you want
But skin finger
A trudging up apparatus
Diamond I water
Me to
And by my lust
Symphony drive as show
Frantic sausages
Me.

The first ‘poem’ is a found poem. The second is a cadralor.

Hidden meanings 1.

Play
sing purple
ache petal-black.
Light up
diamond water
to show me.

Hidden meanings 2

1.
Awakening is like the play of water,
of birds singing in purple,
the cool ache of half-remembered dreams.

2.
One petal was black, I recall.
Put on the light if you want,
it will still be there, held in my burnt fingers.

3.
He called it a creation machine,
that made diamonds from water droplets.
I asked, could he make a diamond of me too.

4.
It was my fault, treating us like a show,
conducting our symphony with the frantic energy of a hostess,
until the orchestra went home.

5.
We have to probe beneath the skin
for what only casts shadows, peel it away,
release the light, and let it shine.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

19 thoughts on “Hidden meanings”

  1. That very last stanza–that’s what we need.

    Sausage kept standing out for me too, so I switched to the Love Tiles.

    According to an online dream dictionary I just consulted, a sausage is a symbol of vitality and strength, or alternately, gathering and community. Who knew? (K)

    Like

    1. I like it when the Oracle offers a happy suggestion.
      Sausage should not be allowed in any poetry word suggestions in my opinion.
      I can see the strength and vitality symbol (the shape), and the gathering and community is maybe barbecues.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My favorite lines, “I asked, could he make a diamond of me too.” And the last stanza of the cadralor.

    I think, like you and Kerfe, I might have had dreams, but didn’t use it this time–or sausages. I just went for inspiration from the first phrase she gave me.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started