Death in winter

An alliterative poem for dverse.

Death in winter

White is the winter, its winding-sheet pale
As the face of the famished, stark-frozen in death.
And the carrion crow, with its coarse raucous voice
Calls down from the darkness, storm-dogged and ill-omened,
This world is for warriors, not the weak and despairing,
But your spears and your swords, though you swear by their keenness,
Are no help when Hel summons, and you hear Garmr snarl.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

20 thoughts on “Death in winter”

  1. Breath-taking, Jane, especially those opening lines, which set the scene perfectly. I also love the sounds in ‘carrion crow, with its coarse raucous voice’, and I swear I heard ‘Garmr snarl’.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started