Watching the sunset

A cascade for dverse.

Watching the sunset

Where did the day go,
the time slip away?
The child became a woman
with mountains to climb,
a rocking horse of dreams.

Rain on the meadow
falls light when spring calls,
and the spring rises in answer,
and only I ask,
where did the day go.

Sun sets in purple prose
when the blackbirds fall silent,
and we listen for the next singers,
the owl or the fox, not letting
the time slip away

like children do
when they learn to fly.
We always seem to miss
that moment when
the child became a woman,

her wings fledged,
the sunset waiting
full of purple prose and promises.
The morning lay just beyond the horizon,
with mountains to climb,

castles in the air,
in the sand,
blowing in the wind,
and waiting, in gales of laughter,
a rocking horse of dreams.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

20 thoughts on “Watching the sunset”

  1. I really like your fantasy of sunset musings. Very well written. Such a great metaphor for life and the way it passes so quickly. Amazing we squeeze all those other things in between!

    Like

  2. You’ve stretched time too in this beautiful cascade, Jane, and used splashes of colour and nostalgia to make it sparkle. I love the ‘rocking horse of dreams’, which reminded me of the corduroy rocking horse I bought my daughter for her fourth birthday. I found it in a second-hand shop near Streatham Common Station and carried it home on the bus. I also love the lines:

    ‘Sun sets in purple prose
    when the blackbirds fall silent’

    and

    ‘We always seem to miss
    that moment when
    the child became a woman’

    so true, and something only mothers of daughters appreciate.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started