A walk

A final poem for the Scavenger Hunt, a brace of wayra. Thank you for the round world trip. It’s been a great experience!

A walk

Up the valley side
we climbed, the dogs and I, high,
where the light is pale and blue,
the valleyed folds sea-green,
tree-billows, fields’ embroidered edge.

We watched the spread world
dapple sun and shade, cloud-birds
reflected in still water,
the lofting of herons,
the hawks’ slow glide, wished we could fly.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

6 thoughts on “A walk”

  1. Jane thanks so much for doing in the scavenger hunt! I’ve enjoyed your poetry immensely! I’m making the assumption that the 2 Greyhounds are yours… Our neighbor has one – a retired racing dog who loves to run circles in the backyard. He only jumped the fence once and just continued running in a circle around the house! Thanks again for joining the fun – I hope to see you for the next one!

    Like

    1. It was a pleasure to jump in, not having been aware of this prompt on previous years.
      Yes, Bix and Redmond are Spanish greyhounds (galgos) adopted from a shelter near Salamanca. In Spain they’re used for hunting but rarely last more than a couple of seasons. And yes, they also run round and round the house in huge circles. We have about five acres of meadow but it isn’t fenced, so it’s pretty hair-raising watching, even though the circling instinct usually prevails 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started