Spring daisy chain

This is a rai poem, the kind that could go on forever! For the Scavenger Hunt.

Spring daisy chain

The spring wind is cold,
older than mountains,

fountains of lava,
balaclava warm.

Swarming bees hum,
drumming like thunder,

under the rain cloud,
loud as jays winging,

singing their hoarse notes,
throats full of crow-caw.

Raw are the nights, still
chill, not for chick waifs,

safe from winter’s teeth,
beneath mother’s wing.

Spring trees are greening,
preening their feathers,

wethers their wool coats,
goats their dainty feet.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “Spring daisy chain”

    1. Thanks 🙂 I often write poems that line the lines this way, but I’ve never also stuck to a set line length. I do though always end the poem with the word it began with. It can take a long time to get there…

      Like

      1. They are rules for one form of south east asian poetry. We have refined and modified it 🙂
        I often write poems that form a single chain of end to beginning rhymes but the lines don’t have a restricted length. The hard bit is to end the poem with the same word (or a very close rhyme) that it began with. I call it a serpent’s tail.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started