Bliss

For the NaPoWriMo prompt.

Bliss

There are so many places to sit here,
where trees blow green-feathered,
and meadows stretch at either hand,
rolling down to the banks of the stream.

I can sit in the porch out of the spring breeze
and listen to birdsong known and unknown,
pick out the soloists from the chorus,
as they arrive one by one.

There is a soft warm stone to sit on
beneath the mimosa tree,
canopied by gales of bee-song, and another,
beneath the hornbeam shade for hot afternoons.

I sit, am sitting, would sit forever,
where running water makes spring thunderous,
where summer sun is broken into harmless dapples,
gently crooning with warbler music.

The stream runs on, and I rise to follow;
the removal man needs to take this chair.

Author: Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

21 thoughts on “Bliss”

  1. I read your poem, Jane, and knew exactly what you mean. I am dreading having to leave our little idyll, but I know that it will happen – the last move for us. I know those trees that ‘blow green-feathered’ and the ‘birdsong known and unknown’, the ‘gales of bee-song’ and a variety of trees. How does anyone leave that behind? I suppose it depends on where you’re moving to.

    Like

    1. I don’t know, Kim. But being totally dependent on a car scares me. Dependent on bottled gas for cooking, wood for heating, it’s not for wimps like me. If anything happened to husband I’d be in real trouble. We don’t know where we’d move to since the children aren’t fixed anywhere in particular, but only one of them actually likes the south. I am not going to live in the frozen north, that’s for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a daunting decision to have to make..
    Why do we grow so weak as we grow older. I fell yesterday and hubby was in the garden… He couldn’t hear me call. I was okay …for now I can walk everywhere. I know that won’t last forever. 💜💜

    Like

    1. For me it’s several things, I can’t drive, and the super/fresh markets are 6/8kms away, I can’t chop up wood for the stove in winter and that’s the only heating there is, and we cook using bottled gas, which I can’t even shift. Too heavy, If husband had an accident, I’d be buggered too!

      Like

      1. The stupid thing is, I have a driving licence, but we never had a car until recently, and I realised I’d forgotten all the reflexes. And it’s not like swimming or riding a bike, they don’t come back!

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started